Autumn on the Surrey-Hampshire border

I went for a ramble today, heading out from my own front door to roam back and forth across the boundaries between my town, Aldershot, and our upmarket neighbour, Farnham. The two towns are in different counties, with the River Blackwater forming the border for much of its length. There are many routes between them, mostly by road, but my favourite is the path along the riverbank from the eastern edge of Aldershot southwest towards the eastern outskirts of Farnham. It’s a pleasant little path, about half an hour’s walk out of town, which avoids roads, and links to many tracks and trails–turn north instead and it crosses the towpath of the Basingstoke Canal before continuing onwards towards the Hampshire-Berkshire border. South, and it connects to the North Downs Way heading east towards Dover, or the web of tracks and trails that rise into the North Downs on the Surrey-Sussex border (seriously, I live and work in liminal spaces).

Today I turned a different way, leaving the river to wind through lanes and backroads until I crossed the northern edge of Farnham through the lower end of Farnham park. I stopped for lunch in the town centre, and then climbed back up to the top of the park–once the deer park of the Bishops of Winchester, who had a country retreat here–and out into the fields and woods west of the town to circle back towards the far end of Farnham. It was one of those walks where I adapted my plans as I went, and I was rewarded in the last few miles with a stunning path I’d never walked before. Pictures below (sorry, no captions, because I’m a) knackered and b) 16k down on Nanowrimo).

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Autumn on the Surrey-Hampshire border

  1. I’m so very envious right now! 😉

  2. Fred Learn says:

    Beautiful! (Though the photo didn’t show up in the box above—I had to click on “open in a new tab” to view it.) All the leaves are gone from the trees here in my bit of the eastern US; it’s very grey and somber. But the light at this time of year, coming in from such a low angle, is splendid and makes everything glow.

    • amyraenbow says:

      We’ve had a very long mild autumn this year. Some of our trees are bare, some are green, and some are turning. We have a lot of beeches around here, which shift through a fabulous range of colours as the year goes by. I love winter light and its clear, sharp angles.

  3. Fred Learn says:

    PS—NOW, after I made a comment, the photos are showing up, for some reason! Again—lovely!

Leave a Reply

