Rainbow Snippets hits rough waters

After spending my week off the day job doing nothing but writing, I have now finished Raif  and Arden’s story, Recovery. I started pulling ideas together for this one in April 2013, and until about a week about was secretly convinced I would never finish it, so I’m feeling a bit lost and bewildered right now. Here’s six sentences from the 31k I wrote this week, which was just the final chunk of this 156k third book in a series (why, yes, I am craving a nice little bit of standalone flash fic right now). Enjoy!

But his heart was as broken and torn as the waters of the lagoon.
Arden had lied to him.
And then, out of the wind, the singing began, high and sweet and yearning, calling him to the waters, promising oblivion. Pol stirred beside him in the boat, rolling towards the edge, their hands reaching out, and a nixie came rising on the crest of the wave, pale hair spilling down her back, her mouth open in song, and her hands reaching out to pull Pol close.
Kastrian let out a shout of rage and swung the oar round to hit the nixie in the head, hurling it away as its song splintered in a shriek of fury.
“Cover your ears!” he roared at Raif.

Rainbow Snippets is a wonderful little Facebook group in which writers gather every weekend to post a six-sentence peek at one of their works. All genres are included but the snippets must be from books with a LGBTQIA+ protagonist.

Hoping to be a bit quicker coming round to comment this week, but it probably won’t be tomorrow, because I’m planning to actually go outside and experience this weird sunshine thing.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Rainbow Snippets hits rough waters

  1. Ooo, nice classic mythic ambience you’ve got going here! (heart)

  2. P.T. Wyant says:

    Great snippet. I can feel him wanting the promised oblivion.

  3. Alexa Milne says:

    Lovely snippet and that is an incredible amount of writing.

  4. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on finishing Recovery! As with all the previous ones, that snippet just makes me want to read the book even more.

    One question – and I don’t mean to pressure you, given that you just finished, so pleasepleaseplease don’t take it that way – but is this the last book in the Reawakening series? Do you have plans for more with the dragons, or is this going to be a trilogy?

    Congrats again! Can’t wait to read Recovery.

    • amyraenbow says:

      Thank you 🙂 I’m hoping for six or seven books in total, with a different dragon in each book. Markell is next and Sharnyn will be last. I’ve got a very rough idea of what will happen in each book, but no more. I also want to write about Sethan and Cayl’s first meeting at some point, and it probably ought to come before Sharnyn’s story, as it provides a lot of back story for that one.

  5. Jana Denardo says:

    Congrats on finishing it. Enjoyed the snippet

  6. I was going to say “Sweet scene,” up until those closing lines. Apparently having a Nixie sing to you is a bad thing, eh?

  7. Are nixies like sirens? I’ve come across them a few times and they’ve usually been pretty bad guys, drowning those who stray into their waters, but I didn’t know about the singing thing. Love to learn new things. Especially things I can put into books, especially as I’m writing my first real fantasy work,

    • amyraenbow says:

      They are. They’re a later and more Germanic version of the same myth which starts with sirens and then evolves into mermaids and rhinemaidens and various other seductive and dangerous water maidens. There are loads of creepy legends out there.

  8. Great snippet! Congratulations on finishing. I’m in awe of how much writing you got done in one week.

  9. YAY! I’m so excited! I cant wait!

Leave a Reply

