Rainbow Snippets (13th February)

Another week, another six sentences from one of my works. Do go over to Facebook and have a peek at all the other snippets being posted–it’s a tantalising feast every week.

This week, in celebration of Valentine’s Day, I’m turning back the clock to post six sentences from my 2014 Valentine’s story, Aunt Adeline’s Bequest. Set in 1920, on the eve of Valentine’s Day, sweet shop owner Valentine and WW1 veteran Jasper try to puzzle out a mystery that links Jasper’s late great-aunt to Valentine’s shop.

Here they discuss the morality of chocolate….

Ah, a man’s choice of chocolate is a private matter,” Valentine said, chuckling. “Chocolate is a very dangerous thing.”

Perhaps if you place yourself between my sisters and an unopened box,” Jasper observed. “Otherwise, it seems like a harmless pleasure.”

You’d think so,” Valentine said, leaning forward and lowering his voice for emphasis. “Everyone eats chocolate, but no one ever stops to consider how wicked it is.”

Violet 1

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Rainbow Snippets (13th February)

  1. Jana Denardo says:

    Loved Valentine’s last line (not to mention Jasper’s crack about his sisters).

  2. Rian Durant says:

    Oh, I do. I consider how wicked the chocolate can be. Very sweet snippet 🙂

  3. Cheryl/Nephy says:

    Gave me shivers. I have to go get some chocolate now so I can see if it tastes different when I know how wicked it can be, 🙂

  4. It’s very, very wicked, indeed. It will turn on you in the end! lol. Great snippet.

  5. louiselyons013 says:

    Very nice snippet. And woe betide anybody who gets between me and chocolate! 🙂

  6. P.T. Wyant says:

    Love the line about the sisters.

    Chocolate is very dangerous. It contains the same chemical that the brain releases when you fall in love.

    • amyraenbow says:

      🙂 I actually knew that, but couldn’t get it in here because it would have been anachronistic. Valentine is well aware of how seductive it can be, though, the shameless flirt 🙂

  7. jlmerrow says:

    Great snippet! And now I want some chocolate… 😉

  8. Kate Lowell says:

    Hahaha, I can see where this is going to end up…

  9. Great snippet. Loved that last line!

  10. Oh, I think about chocolate all the time! (Although, admittedly, not about its wickedness.)

    • amyraenbow says:

      ^_^ Chocolate is a wonderful thing (have you ever come across Laura Florand’s Chocolate Thief series? M/F romances about Parisian chocolatiers and pastry chefs. I love them)

  11. wispywillow says:

    Hey! It’s Brandi ^_^ Elizabeth pointed me this way. Trying to reconnect with some of the people from our online group. I hope all is well with you! I’ll dig into this blog and catch up soon.

    • amyraenbow says:

      *squees* Hihihi! It’s lovely to see you. I miss you all. Things here–well, I’m absurdly busy, but in a good way 🙂 I still see some of your Facebook posts. I’m glad things are starting to get better.

Leave a Reply

