Rainbow Snippets (30th January)

Another week, another six sentence snippet for the wonderful Rainbow Snippets community on Facebook. Here’s one last snippet from A Frost of Cares, my winter ghost story which came out on Wednesday.

There were no more footsteps, and we managed to do the washing-up and convert the armchair in my room into something Jay could sleep in all night. I changed in the bathroom, and in case you’re wondering, I didn’t wear anything provocative or even forgo my shirt—firstly because we were trying not to piss off the ghost by having sex, and secondly because it was a seventeenth-century mansion in December, in a country that still regards efficient central heating as mildly immoral. I wore my fleece pj’s, two pairs of socks, and a sweater on top of that, just like I had the last three nights.

Jay took one look at me and broke into laughter. “All you’re missing is a bobble hat.”

FrostofCares[A]_headerbanner

Order on Amazon.com  Amazon.co.uk Barnes and Noble All Romance Apple Kobo

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rainbow Snippets (30th January)

  1. Lol. That’s a cute image!

  2. What a wonderful vignette. I can see those pyjamas 🙂

  3. Louise Lyons says:

    Jay should warm him up! Ghost or not.

  4. Kate Lowell says:

    That’s so funny. Living in Canada, in a turn of the century farm house, I am completely on his side. And have been known to go to bed like that.

    • amyraenbow says:

      *amused* Years ago, I was in a house share with a whole load of Canadian students who hated British winters and spent the whole winter whinging about the cold because our central heating is so shit. I was thinking of them as I wrote that line.

  5. velvetpanic says:

    Brrr, puts me right there 🙂

  6. Jana Denardo says:

    I really liked his caution and Jay’s reaction to it.

  7. P.T. Wyant says:

    Sharing a bed = sharing heat. Just sayin’…

Leave a Reply

