Rainbow snippets (19th December)

It’s time for Rainbow Snippets again, so here are six sentences from Resistance, which is out on December 29–ten days from now! This is from early in the book, and is a hint of what is about to come…

LooResistanceFSking down, Iskandir grimaced. He had stepped on a dead rat.

He kicked it into the gutter and then frowned, taking a closer look. There were four more lying there, their greasy fur matted and a pink froth drying around their mouths. He didn’t like the creatures, which had come creeping into the city in ever greater numbers as it declined under the Shadow’s rule. He wasn’t going to weep for their demise, but something about that little heap made him shudder.

Resistance_headerbanner

Pre-order from DSPP Amazon.com Barnes and Noble OmniLit Google Play

 

 

This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Rainbow snippets (19th December)

  1. Layla Dorine says:

    oh dead rats are never a good sign

  2. louiselyons013 says:

    Ooh, creepy. I wonder what killed them? Interesting…

  3. velvetpanic says:

    Added to TBR pile 🙂

  4. Elin Gregory says:

    Ooh wow. I’m going to have to get the first book so I can read it before this one comes out. This and the blurbs press all of my buttons. Am I weird for getting excited by dead rats when sex scenes make me yawn?

    • amyraenbow says:

      I hope you enjoy it 🙂 I have to admit that this was one of the scenes I most enjoyed writing. That first dead rat is one of those essential beats in a plague book, and it sent shivers down my spine to write it.

  5. Okay, I’m hooked. More?

  6. Rian Durant says:

    It made me shudder too. Hooked!

  7. jlmerrow says:

    Ominous music is playing in my head…

    • amyraenbow says:

      And so it should 😉 One of the things I found fascinating as I wrote and researched this was aware we all still are of plague. I always thought of it as a medieval horror, but it still haunts us (in fact, some of the experts I read in researching the book reckon we’re still in the tail end of the third pandemic, although the last major outbreak was in 1945).

  8. Jana Denardo says:

    Ooo this one got my attention!

  9. It’s never a good sign when even the rats are dying. You have me intrigued!

Leave a Reply

