Rainbow Snippets 12-13 December: The Sea Has Many Voices

A little glimpse at my now finished Nanowrimo 2015 novel this week. In accordance with the rules of Rainbow Snippets, here are six sentences (if news of this Facebook group hasn’t reached you yet, do follow the link, because it’s a neat thing with many awesome authors involved). Whilst trying to find out more about the ghost who appears in his holiday cottage every morning, my hero has discovered a diary kept by Edwardian artist Joshua Haymer, a contemporary of the dead man. Here Haymer describes a shipwreck:

I heard her hull tear open, even up here, even over the rain and thunder—God help me, I hope I never hear another sound like that again. 
The streets were full of people running down to the shore. I went with them—I’m still not sure why. It drew me, this terrible thing I thought we were about to witness. I have heard people sneer at common folk for running to gawk at accidents, but after today, I think that is unfair. Even when we are powerless to help, there is something in us that urges us to bear witness, to somehow reach out to the dying and tell them they are not alone in their last moments.

shipwreck.jpg

Resistance_headerbanner

Pre order from Amazon

© Amy Rae Durreson 2015

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rainbow Snippets 12-13 December: The Sea Has Many Voices

  1. jlmerrow says:

    Powerful stuff! 🙂

  2. Jana Denardo says:

    Ooo that really paints a picture. Love the setting.

    • amyraenbow says:

      I had such fun with the setting. It’s loosely based on a real Yorkshire village, Staithes, which was a fishing village turned artists’ colony in the late Victorian era. So much of my research was visual this time–vintage photos and paintings.

  3. P.T. Wyant says:

    I am just totally awed by this snippet. The writing is wonderful.

  4. velvetpanic says:

    This gave me chills…

  5. Wonderful! Lovely writing, powerful insight–i’m hooked!

  6. clarelondon says:

    Oh, very powerful and vivid! 🙂

Leave a Reply

